top of page

Vegetarian Quinoa Taco Bake

I tweaked the original recipe I found to make it vegetarian friendly for my better half. You can truly make this recipe what you want it to be, I changed a bunch of things from the original recipe and it was still delicious. It tasted like pizza!

Sorry guys I had no idea this would be so delicious so the picture is not very good!

*original recipe was 21 day fix approved and I did not add anything that should change that!*

4 Servings - Prep Time: 10 minutes - Cooking Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

2 cups meatless crumbles (you can use more or less depending on personal preference)

1 cup uncooked quinoa

4oz no salt added tomato sauce

1 1/3 cup shredded cheese

3 garlic cloves minced

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup salsa

1 bell pepper chopped

1/2 jalapeno chopped (optional...will explain why)

Directions:

1. prepare quinoa as directed on package and set aside

2. in a skilllet cook meatless crumbles with minced garlic- when it is halfway through the cook time for the meatless crumbles add onion, salsa, bell pepper and jalapeno (optional)

3. add cooked quinoa, tomato sauce, and 1/3 cup of shredded cheese to skillet

4. stir well and transfer to greased baking dish.

5. top with remaining 1 cup of shredded cheese

6. bake at 350 degrees (fahrenheit) for 10-15 minutes until cheese is melted

Okay so the jalapeno...the second time I made this I used no garlic and a whole jalapeno....my mouth was on fire, I was crying, not cute....my better half however loved the jalapeno...if you like jalapeno's I would say stick it in, but if you are not so good with the spicy stuff, I would say omit it! I certainly picked the jalapenos out of mine!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page